ICMS Holds Induction Ceremony for Class of 2016

On Friday, 31 October, the Institute of Crisis Management Studies inducted the new class of 2016. Principal of the ICMS, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Balananda Sharma gave a welcome address to new students and faculty, emphasizing the importance of studying crisis management in Nepal and ICMS’s position as a pioneer in this field. Pragya Adhikari, director of administration and managment at the ICMS, outlined the academic expectations of the students, as well as the relevant policies.

Two new faculty members - Ms. Barbara Grossman Thompson and Mr. Dipak Bhatta - introduced themselves to the students, provided details on the course curriculum and expressed their excitement in joining this unique graduate program. ICMS board member IGP (Retd.) Sanat Basnet emphasized the need to pass the baton from the older generation of crisis managers to the new generation. Board members Shanti Adhikari and Dr. Sambriddhi Kharel also joined the event to welcome the new students.

The class of 2016 consists of students with a variety of professional and academic backgrounds - including the military, the police, local businesses and international NGOs. For the first time, the ICMS is pleased to welcome three international students - Dee Boongallaya. Max Mørch, and Jenny Hoffman - from Thailand, the United Kingdom, and the United States, respectively.



We would like to thank all students, faculty, board members, and staff for attending the induction ceremony. We look forward to a successful year ahead!